Police Department

The Jackson Center Police Department is dedicated to serving and protecting the residents of Jackson Center, Ohio.  The Department provides twenty-four hour service to the residents and businesses of the Village of Jackson Center.  The Department is comprised of two full time officers; Chief Joseph Cotterman and Sergeant Charles Wirick and several Auxiliary Police Officers as Independent Contractors.  You can contact Chief Cotterman and Sergeant Wirick by calling (937) 596-6140.

The Jackson Center Police Department works closely with the Shelby County Sheriff's Office.  The Sheriff's Office can be reached by calling (937) 498-1111.

Useful links for residents:

Shelby County Crime Stoppers - (937) 492-TIPS www.shelbycountysheriff.com/crimestoppers.asp 
Register to receive email alerts regarding Sexual Offenders - Register here

The Police Department is looking forward to the addition of a K-9 Officer.  Recently the Council of the Village of Jackson Center approved of a K-9 Officer to the Police Department.  The K-9 will arrive within the next couple of weeks and Sergeant Chuck Wirick will be trained as the handler.  The K-9 will be used for tracking and article search, narcotic control, and apprehension.  We are looking forward to meeting our new Officer!

Mayor's Court
Mayor Scott Klopfenstein does preside over Mayor's Court which is held on the Second and Fourth Monday's of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the Police Department which is located at 110 South Linden Avenue.  The entrance to the Police Department is on the west side of the Safety Building and is identified by a black and white Police sign.

Jackson Center Police Officers

Joseph Cotterman
Chief of Police

Chuck Wirick


Auxiliary Police Officers:

Officer Kyle Brown Officer Scott Chandler Officer Joshua Deal
Officer Skyler Lotz Officer Trenton Mann Officer Richard March
Officer John Pence Officer Ted Rostorfer Officer Shawn Smith
Officer Brian Snider Officer Dwaine Sosby Officer Larry Sprague
Officer Eric VanWagner    

Fundraiser for Officer Scott Chandler

There is a fundraiser being held on Saturday, March 28th at the American Legion in Jackson Center.  Doors open at 5:00 p.m. with dinner being served at 6:00 p.m.  Officer Chandler has worked as an Auxiliary Police Officer for several years for the Village of Jackson Center.  He was recently diagnosed with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma and is currently receiving treatment.  All funds raised will be donated to Officer Chandler.